Back and forth, up and down

I’ve been doing pretty well on my revisions but now I’m hitting the parts where I left gaping holes, skipped ahead and otherwise left a big mess in my wake. So I’m ending up (re)writing whole scenes, and messing up what comes after. So far, I’ve written at least a half chapter of new text, but I’ve also had to remove (at least for now) two chapters that come after, as the chain of events is changing. Which draws me back to my eternal dilemma: was it better that I pushed through, or would it’ve been better to try to sort it out a little better in my head first?

I suppose six of one half dozen of another.

Still, it’s a little painful, watching things have to be set aside, even while I’m still confronted with issues I wasn’t able to sort out the first time around. This time, though, I’m not writing on without properly sorting through these scenes, first. It isn’t easy on the momentum, but I think it has to be done.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Mac

     /  January 24, 2011

    Does it help to think of these as two different but equally crucial modes of creation, each serving a purpose that other one might not do so well? Just from reading this, it seems like each way has its advantages.

    Reply
    • It does a little, but I guess–the fact that almost everything I wrote after I “skipped ahead” is going into the trash file at worst (or the maybe-can-be-salvaged file at best) just makes me question jumping ahead before I properly think things out. I know it means I can get stuck there for months but maybe I get stuck for a good reason? I don’t know. We’ll see, as I progress, if I keep anything from the last 70 pages 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

