Prêt-à- … écrire?

So, though I’m well aware it’s not perfect, I’ve packaged up the first draft of The Red Box and sent it off to C., who has very kindly been reading through my first-ish draft(s). I was trying to polish up the second half, since the first half of the story can’t really be called “first draft”–it’s really been revised at least three times, if not more for some sections. The second half, though, is definitely a first draft. Much of it is still as it came from my fingers, and I’m already aware of some places where the pacing feels off, where I’m not trusting myself, or not sure if a scene belongs or not.

So why send it off? Well, partly because I’m sick of looking at it–it’s definitely drawer time; and partly because C. has been so encouraging and insightful and motivating that I would appreciate her insight into the “less good” parts.

Which leaves me… still wanting to write, but not sure what to write. There’s an idea that’s nibbling on the back of my brain, but it’s largely unformed as of yet, and to be honest, it’s mostly driven by my current game-infatuation. I know the beginning premise: a woman captain (or other commanding officer) who returns from some great accomplishment (a drastic mission? a search-and-rescue? a great discovery?) unfulfilled, both on a personal and professional level. She drifts away from her previous position for whatever reason (she retires because of her discontent, she saw something that soured her, she feels distanced from her crew, she was driven out by politics) and now does her daily due on the way to retirement. But then an old friend from her past calls…

I could also work on a short story, as the previous idea feels like a novella at least. I’ve got lots of poor, aborted short story ideas lingering: the “zombie” older lady who meets and has a fling with a younger man and all that ensues; the diary livejournal of a teenage werewolf; the spaceman who falls in love with a distant “voice” only to discover not what he expects on the other end. I’ve also got lots of stalled novels: The King of Salem, Under a Dreaming Sky, The Color of Amber… But all those stories have male leads and I wonder if I’m not in the mood to write a female lead for a while.

Or I’ve got a list of prompts from an “original fic bingo card” that I signed up for. Maybe it’s time to just jot out a bunch of short fiction for a while. I did, after all, have a pretty fun time writing a recent Re-Vamp werewolf story…

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

