The sitting on one’s hands shall continue!

Every Monday a group of friends and I sit down to write for an hour. This past Monday I was worried I couldn’t write, so one of my friends suggested a challenge–to write about a character cooking–and I agreed. Instead of writing about cooking though, I ended up writing a scene that could follow where I’d last left off in the novel.

Which is a long-winded way of saying clearly my brain would still like to work on the novel.

It’s funny. While I was writing the scene I was fighting myself the whole way through. I finally stopped when that fight just got to be too much and I just hated the last bit of what I’d written. I’m so mad I’ve suddenly allowed that demon of self-doubt back in the door when I’d been pretty good about holding it off for so much of the book. I suspect Sue has the right of it, that I’m afraid of the ending. I also think I’m just plain tired–from writing so much so fast for such a long period of time (for me), from shenanigans at work, from a sudden bout of insomnia and blues.

Speaking of the day job, I really wish I could skip it, some times. Yesterday morning I had this amazing nightmare (hm, should those words really go together) which made me want to write a little scene or short story so badly. I wanted to, but I had to go to work. And then I tried to hold it all day, but by the end of the day it was all tatters. It’s still lurking and lurching around the back of my mind, but now I don’t know that I can do it justice. It was so fresh, and well, terrifying.

Also, someone please explain to me why the most horrifying monsters in my dreams seem to be these skinned/naked wolf-dog creatures? 🙂

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. When I was younger, I would often hear a song in my head, or a melody, and know that I only had a few seconds to record it somehow before it was lost forever. I even used to rush back home to my tape recorder (yes, it was that long ago) to hum a few notes so that I would remember it. More recently, I’ve written hurried notes about a line, or a plot change in stories I’m writing. I really do believe in inspiration, but it comes more often with practice. When it comes though, you have to get it down quick.

    Reply
    • Remembering to jot the idea down before it’s gone is so important! And learning what phrases or images will bring back the emotion/inspiration…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

