Grilling the Psychic: An Interview with Marco from “The Midnight Carnival”

Halloween is coming… and with it, the release of The Midnight Carnival: One Night OnlyTo get you ready for our treat, I’ll be hosting a series of character interviews, as well as joining the Halloween Reads Blog Tour. Here’s our first victi–er, volunteer!  Marco Vasquez! (Thanks to Ali W!)

Hey, Marco!  Why don’t you tell us a little about yourself?  Just a quick introduction for these good folks here. 

Oh, I guess people wouldn’t know that, would they? Alright then. Um, I’m Marco. I’m twenty-five, I work in a carnival, and the part that everyone remembers: I’m a psychic. No, I don’t see the future. No, I can’t read your mind. I see the dead, though. And the past. It’s really fucking annoying, and I can’t turn it off. If I don’t shake your hand, don’t take it personally, I just really don’t want to be in your memories.

So when did you first discover you had psychic powers?

When I was seventeen, after spending years in a mental hospital. My mother thought I was crazy. Schizophrenic, actually. Doctors did too. So I was crazy until proven psychic. Being psychic is better, but not by much.

What led you to join the Midnight Carnival?

Drugs are expensive, and I needed a job. I wish I had a better answer, but I don’t.

Did you work as a psychic anywhere else before you came to the carnival?

I did! A few little side-of-the-road psychic shops. I never worked with a real psychic in any of them, and the people I worked with either didn’t believe me, or were jealous of me. Either way, I had to wear these horrible costumes and this awful costume jewelry, and in one case a turban…

Halloween’s coming up.  Love the holiday?  Hate it?  What was your best/worst Halloween?

Honestly? I’m kind of indifferent. People say that the veil or whatever is thinner, but my abilities drive me nuts all the time, so I can’t tell the difference. And I haven’t dressed up since I was a kid, so… Yeah. Best I can give it is that I’m indifferent.

Anything else you’d like to say?

Yeah, why the fuck does everybody want to talk to famous dead people? Is it not impressive enough that we’re contacting dead people? How often do you talk to dead people on a regular basis that you need to come into my tent and ask me to channel JFK or Marilyn Monroe or Abe Lincoln? Guys. Calm the fuck down. A ghost is a ghost. Just enjoy the paranormal experience and leave me a damn tip.

The Midnight Carnival: One Night Only will be available on Oct 31st in print and ebook!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

